In praise of the afternoon nap

Hi gorgeous!

How are you doing? If you are reading this and it also Autumn for you, I hope that you are managing to slow down. When I wrote about Ayurveda’s take on Autumn in this post, I mentioned how Vata time (the quality that is most prominent in this season) makes us a bit heady and spacey. This is because the qualities of air and space are prevalent, so we naturally amplify those qualities within ourselves.

One thing I haven’t mentioned is how different times of the day are also more prominent. These are rough guides and they can vary based on the time of year and your latitude, but, generally, Vata is most active between the hours of two and six. This is applicable in the afternoon and in the evening.

Do you ever wake at two in the morning? Ha, ha, that is Vata time! Meditation is recommended before six a.m. because Vata is the most “airy” time of the day, so we are very receptive.

But, this is a post about afternoon naps, I digress.

Basically, if you have Vata in your constitution, a Vata imbalance or it is Vata season (windy, cold, dry) outside, you need to take extra precautions at Vata time to stay balanced.

Vata needs warmth, grounding, sweetness and routine.

An afternoon nap (20 minutes or so) is a perfect way to ground Vata, since it slows down the movement that is inherent in Vata. If we don’t consciously slow down at this time of the day, we can get a bit frazzled and feel really worn out by the end of the day. Do this for a couple of years and you start waking at 2 a.m. (I know because I have done it!)

When I first started working on balancing my constitution (My Vata was out of balance), I would nap every day if I could. On the days that I couldn’t, I made a point of sitting and having a cup of tea.

Now that I feel much more grounded, I still have a nap if I feel like it.

Or else, I make myself a cup of chai with a cookie (remember I said Vata needs sweet – I have just given you permission to have some cake in the afternoon!). I also read or watch something inspiring, sit outside, or just lie in bed. I do this between two and three p.m. before I pick up my children from school. When they come home, we have some more afternoon tea, all together. (You can’t have too much afternoon tea, I say!)

My husband has a job in the city and does not have the luxury of lying down for an afternoon nap, so I have encouraged him to go for afternoon tea with his colleagues and to eat something sweet (fruit is really good to have at this time) between the hours of two and six. He says that it really makes a difference to his day and he also doesn’t come home ravenous.

I hope that is helpful to you. Give it a try and let me know if it makes a difference to your day.

Blessings to you.

Would you like to subscribe to the Peaceful Mothering newsletter? Join the Peaceful Mothering tribe and get Olga’s updates. Click here.

3 thoughts on “In praise of the afternoon nap

  1. Tracy

    Hi Olga,

    Does it matter if i am kapha-pitta… can i still have afternoon tea?! he he he… actually your post is timely, i have been craving sweeter food more than i usually do (last night we had roasted pumpkin soup-best i’ve ever made, cos i used ghee, and your moong dhal spices!!)… i don’t usually like honey either, but i’ve been drinking so much of your lemon, ginger, fennel and honey tea, i add cinnamon too lately. Maybe it’s cos i’ve got a really bad cold at the moment, one of the worst i’ve ever had, and it’s forced me to stay home for two days – it’s unusual for me.

    Thanks for sharing Olga, you have so much useful and interesting information, and i am learning so much from you. SEnding you love, xoxoxo Tracy

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. olgadossa Post author

      Hi Tracy.

      Aaaaw, thank you for such a lovely compliment. I am so happy to hear when I write something useful :).

      Afternoon naps and too much sweet are not recommended for kapha types, but you can definitely sit down and have some fruit for afternoon tea. You have the pitta which needs sweetness to balance it. Astringent fruits are most recommended for kapha types: apples, apricots, berries, cherries, peaches, pears, raisins…

      Sorry that you have a cold. Perhaps a great time to reflect and rest? Add a pinch of turmeric, a teaspoon of coconut oil and a pinch of cayenne to the lemon, honey and ginger drink and drink all day. You will be back to your chirpy self before you know it.

      xxx

      Like

      Reply
      1. Tracy Rowe

        Thanks Olga. I have all those so I will add them. I’ll let you know how I go. Xoxo all my love.

        Like

Leave a Reply

