What is Ayurveda?

At more than 5 000 years old, Ayurveda is the oldest healing modality in the world. As the sister science of yoga, following an Ayurvedic lifestyle is a natural progression for me.

I have been interested in it for a while, but I started taking it really seriously last year when my daughter, Annie, was complaining of a sore tummy. It was so sore, in fact, that we rushed her to the emergency centre after hours. This coincided with me finding out that my hormones were out of balance. Annie and I decided to start eating ayurvedically as an experiment. If we felt better, we would continue.

Annie has not had a sore tummy since, I am pleased to report! I feel better within myself than I ever have, this is definitely something that makes sense to me.

I feel so much more awareness of my body and how I feel after each meal. People are commenting that I am losing weight, this has not been my goal, but I think that my body is just naturally finding it’s own balance.

So what makes eating Ayurvedically different to other ways of eating?

Instead of looking at calories, micro and macronutrients, protein count and carbohydrates, Ayurveda looks at the element of nature. Ayurveda looks at everything, from our bodies to the food we eat in terms of the elements and how they relate to each other.

The elements that are considered in Ayurveda are earth, water, fire, air and space. Each individual person has these elements within themselves. The way that they are combined at birth determines the person’s constitution (Prakruti). These elements combine as physical, mental and emotional characteristics.

Within the body, there is a constant interaction between order and disorder. Ayurveda is focused on bringing the body into a state of balance. When our body is in a state of balance, we experience vibrant health, inspiring relationships and a peaceful life. Sounds good? I think so!

In Ayurveda, you will hear people speaking about their dosha. The dosha (which actually means fault) is basically the person’s constitution. Our constitution can be in balance, or out of balance. When it is out of balance, we experience ill health, so Ayurveda always works at bringing the dosha into balance.

  • The elements of earth and water are represented by the Kapha dosha. When Kapha is in balance, it promotes love, calmness and forgiveness. Out of balance it produces attachment, greed and envy. *
  • The elements of water and fire are represented by the Pitta dosha. When in balance it promotes understanding and intelligence. When out of balance it produces anger, hate and jealousy. *
  • The elements of air and space (ether) are represented by the Vata dosha. When in balance it promotes flexibility and creativity. When out of balance it produces fear and anxiety. *

What I love about Ayurveda is that it is unique for each person. There is no one size fits all solution to bring anyone into balance. And it really makes sense.

There is so much to share about Ayurveda, but I thought it would be good to have a basic, introductory post for you. I am planning to share a lot more information with you about it. I really think that it can make a difference to you and your family’s wellbeing.

I wish you good health and I would love to know if you have had any experience with Ayurveda.

Blessings to you.

Would you like to subscribe to the Peaceful Mothering Newsletter? Sign up here to get Olga’s love notes.

*Source: Ajit.

4 thoughts on “What is Ayurveda?

  1. Emily Lavis

    This is so interesting Olga, I’ve just ordered Eat Taste Heal and another introductory book Ayurveda…..I think this may be what I have been searching for to help balance my life 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: In praise of the afternoon nap | Peaceful Mothering

  3. Pingback: Ayurvedic bedtime drink | Peaceful Mothering

Leave a Reply

