How to create a garden like Claude Monet

Hi there beautiful!

Today I would love to tell you about how you can create the garden of your dreams.

I have inherited a massive garden in the house that we are living in at the moment. I am sure that there are much bigger gardens out there, but this one has felt quite overwhelming to me. We live an hour outside of the city, in a semi rural area.

It is beeeeeeeautiful. We live on a dirt road, we have kangaroos hopping outside and beautiful Australian gum trees all around.

I really do feel like I am in heaven.

You see, beauty is one the most important things in my life. I live and breathe my life to create beauty all around me. It fills my soul.

The problem has been that this incredible garden that I have inherited is a lot of work. So, for the last year, I have sort of just let it deteriorate.  it wasn’t in the best shape when we moved in, so I used that as my excuse not to do anything about it.

Have you ever done that? Felt so overwhelmed by something that you just leave it.

I am a recovering perfectionist and the typical tendency of perfectionists is to procrastinate. We procrastinate and procrastinate and then things become so overwhelming that we panic. The 3 p’s of perfectionists: perfectionism… procrastination… panic.

Not a good combination, is it?

The thing is that we are never complete. Nothing can ever be perfect. It can only be perfect when it is finished. And nothing is ever finished.

Everything is a beautiful, ever evolving process. When we stop growing, we die. Not that anything ever dies, energy just transforms, but that is is topic for another day, ha!

Anyway, I realised that if I wanted to create Monet’s garden at Givenry, I would have to start somewhere. (Yes, that is my dream, to have a garden like that!)

Givenry

I have started just being in my garden. Just going out there with no agenda. Seeing what calls me that day.

I have tidied up my vegetable garden. I have put up a mini greenhouse which has been sitting in a box for over a year, I have planted seedlings, I have started building up my soil, I have been mulching, I have planted sunflower seeds in the shape of a teepee and I have started nurturing my compost bin and worm farm.

And when I say I, I actually mean me and the children. As a mother, you know that your children follow you wherever you go. I like to think of my children like little puppies following me around. Always happy, excited and wanting to know how they can be involved in my latest project.

So, Annie and Xavier have been doing all of this with me. And they have been inspired by the garden just as much as me.

It took Monet 40 years to create his garden. He had 8 children helping him and 5 full time gardeners. I have 2 very small children and an occasional helper in Sohail, who works in his corporate job in the city all day.

So, I may not achieve Monet’s garden in the next year, but I can appreciate the beauty in creating it, all the same.

It is never done. It will always be changing. And it will always need my attention.

One of my teachers says that when you step outside, all your problems disappear. Truer words have not been said. The smell of the earth, the feel of the soil in your fingers (I very rarely wear gardening gloves), the crunch of the leaves under your feet, the sounds of the birds, the wind. The appreciation of the passing of the seasons that can only be appreciated when we spend time in nature every day.

So, please, gorgeous one, get yourself and your children outside!

Plant a tomato plant. Or a box of beautiful flowers. Learn how to grow your own food. A wonderful place to start is with Nicola Chatham. She has got great tips, e-books and courses that will take all the perceived hard work out of gardening for you.

Whatever you do, just do something in the garden! Even if you only have a windowsill. Connect with nature. Nature is the ultimate healer. Nature connects you right back to your soul.

It won’t be perfect. Especially when you have little people around you. Little peeps who want to do everything you are doing. It will take twice as long. It will not look like you envision. You will kill a few plants. You will cook a few worms (guilty as charged).

And you will be forever changed because of it.

So, just DO IT!

Go, go, go…

Get off Facebook and this blog and smell the earth. Feel the wind in your hair. Get some cow poo from the local farmer and go and love your soil.

Enjoy your connection.

Blessings to you.

Would you like to subscribe to the Peaceful Mothering newsletter? Join the Peaceful Mothering tribe and get Olga’s updates. Click here.

3 thoughts on “How to create a garden like Claude Monet

  1. Pingback: The best dhal you will ever eat | Peaceful Mothering

  2. Pingback: How ayurveda can be supportive in the changing times of Autumn | Peaceful Mothering

  3. Pingback: Progress on Claude Monet’s garden | Peaceful Mothering

Leave a Reply

