Xavier turns four. And some birthday traditions.

Xavier has turned four. He is the most delightful little boy. Sweet, funny and full of laughs.

I thought I would share a few photos and some of our family traditions when it comes to birthdays.

We always tell a special birthday story the night before. We tell a Steiner inspired story about a bird coming out of an egg, running down a hill and greeting his new family. I love The Birthday Book – celebrations for everyone, by Druitt, Fynes-Clinton and Rowling for lovely Steiner inspired ideas. I tell our birthday story from there and gather some other inspiration from there too.

In the morning, the children find that there are ribbons hanging form their door. This year, Xavier had four ribbons hanging. He also got to jump out of bed four times and had four kisses when waking up.

Image

We have a birthday table set up. I made a birthday bunting a few years ago. This always goes up, for every member of the family. We put a special birthday crown on the person. What is funny about the crown, is that it is really scratchy, so the birthday person only manages to wear it for a photo and then takes it off!

My children go to a Montessori school, which has it’s own traditions too.

A birthday candle is lit and the child holds a globe. As the class sings, the child walks around the candle, holding the globe. The candle represents the sun. The child walks around the sun just once and then the family shares a photo (or photos) of the child in that year of their life.

Image

So, Xavier got to travel around the sun four times! He was too scared to go by himself, I had to go with him. I found this really poetic, as he is still so very attached to me. He still climbs into my bed at night and always wants me to feed him, dress him and read him stories. His dad is just not good enough for that, yet!

Our family also bakes and decorates a cake. This year, I baked a cake and Annie and Xavier decorated it. It was a beautiful mess and I loved it!

Image

And to top off our traditions, we always do a family photo with the cake. I got this tradition from my mother in law. I always see photos of Sohail as a boy, in front of the birthday cake with the whole family. I think it is a lovely way to mark the occasion and to see everyone growing over the years.

Image

We also cut the cake with the knife that Sohail and I used for our wedding. The first bite always goes to the birthday child (or adult).

And there you have it, our birthday traditions. I love the familiarity in them and how it reduces stress, since everyone knows what to expect each year. It also saves a lot of money. We don’t feel that there is a need to have expensive, themed cakes and decorations. Our family being together is the most important to us.

Do you have any family traditions? I would love to hear them.

Blessings to you.

By the way, I just found this beautiful, 2 minute video, peeking inside a Montessori classroom. Have a look, I guarantee you will be inspired.

7 thoughts on “Xavier turns four. And some birthday traditions.

  1. krissie

    happy birthday to your little one – four is getting to be quite big! I used to be a student teacher in a montessori classroom and wanted to send my dd’s to one to, only there wasnt one close enough by. I like your traditions, cos as you say everyone knows what will happen and its about celebrating without the fancy, just the people who count most – family! love the bunting too!

    Like

    Reply
    1. olgadossa

      Oh how wonderful that you have had the experience of Montessori, Krissie. I think you would have been an amazing Montessori teacher. Thank you for your birthday wishes for my big boy too. xxx

      Like

      Reply
  2. krissie

    happy birthday to your little one – four is getting to be quite big! I used to be a student teacher in a montessori classroom and wanted to send my dd’s to one to, only there wasnt one close enough by. I like your traditions, cos as you say everyone knows what will happen and its about celebrating without the fancy, just the people who count most – family! love the bunting too!

    Like

    Reply
    1. olgadossa

      Oh how wonderful that you have had the experience of Montessori, Krissie. I think you would have been an amazing Montessori teacher. Thank you for your birthday wishes for my big boy too. xxx

      Like

      Reply
  3. Natasha

    Olga, I just love this! How very inspiring. I’m going to make it my mission this year to make some birthday bunting!

    I see with my children, who are now 13 and 11, how important tradition and routine still is for them…maybe even more so as they grow up. To have this and to feel warm and loved within your family is such an important contribution to feeling safe and secure as life ever changes.

    Thank you for this great post and for…once again…amidst all the hustle and bustle of our modern world, bringing us all back to what is truly important.

    Like

    Reply
    1. olgadossa

      Thanks so much for your perspective, Natasha. My children are still young, so I really value your input about what teenagers go through. Good luck with the bunting!

      Like

      Reply
  4. olgadossa

    Thanks so much for your perspective, Natasha. My children are still young, so I really value your input about what teenagers go through. Good luck with the bunting!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

