A new year ritual for you

As we head into the new year, I thought that I would share my end of year ritual with you. It is very powerful to take this time of year as a time to rest and reflect on what has been. It is in the moments of stillness that we do all of our effortless creating.

I am busy reading Inspired Destiny by John Demartini at the moment. It is really good in helping me to clarify what my hierarchy of values is and tying it into what I do with my time and for a living. We are all meant to live incredible lives. Don’t you deserve to make yours incredible?

Here is the ritual we did last year. It is spread out over two days. The first part we did on New Years eve and the second part we did on New Years day. It was very powerful and I achieved everything on my list of intentions except for our planned trip to South Africa. When we focus our desires, we literally create magic.

These rituals are a blend of two modern witches that I love, Tess Whitehurst and Stacey Demarco. If any of it doesn’t resonate with you, feel free to adjust it to your style. The most powerful thing is the intention behind it.

Think back on 2012…

  1. List 5 personal victories – big or small –  that you experienced.
  2. List 5 precious, priceless gifts that you received from others or from the Universe.
  3. List 5 challenges that you faced and valuable lessons you learned from them.
  4. Set a timer for 2 minutes and during that time, brainstorm as many things as possible that you are grateful for in your life. It doesn’t matter how small or how large.

Now, put on some relaxing music, light a candle and perhaps some incense, and sit comfortably with your spine straight. Place your right hand over your heart and your left hand over it. Close your eyes and conjure up all the gratitude you possibly can. Marvel at your good fortune and at the good fortune you experienced in 2012. Relax into this feeling.

When this feels complete, remove your hands from your heart and open them up to the sky, arms angling out, palms facing up. With your eyes still closed, slightly tilt your head up so that your face is gently angled toward the sky. This is a gesture of welcoming in even greater blessings for the year ahead. Visualise very bright golden/white/rainbow light streaming down from above. Receive it gratefully and with an open heart. Let it swirl around you and surround you.

Now that you are in a space of gratitude, spend some time writing down what your intentions for the New Year are. Once you are clear on your intentions for the New Year, you are ready for the second part of the ritual.

In this ritual we call upon the Goddess Jana. She is an extremely ancient Goddess of the Moon. She, along with the later masculine aspect, Janus, had two faces – one face that looked backwards (the past) and the other that faced forwards (the future). As a Moon Goddess, she had perspective; she could see things from a great height and therefore didn’t miss much. She is the perfect Goddess to invoke at the beginning of the year due to her all seeing nature and role of a gatekeeper. Doorways and gates are her domain, and so passing over the threshold of time into a new year is something she watches over. She is also a Goddess of wine so that little tipple you have at midnight can also be an offering in her honour!

Light a green candle and say: “Jana of the Gateway! I call thee! I am ready to step through 2012 into this new possibility of 2013. I have thought about my desires and wish for you to grant my intentions if they be for the good of all!”

Place your hands in a bowl of salted water and say: “I cleanse away my fears, doubts and any obstacles in the way of a brilliant year.” Wash your hands, imagining all negative things in your life being washed away. Keep your hands in there as long as you need.

Read out your intentions for 2013 three times. Be excited about these intentions. Don’t be shy about them! Feel the excitement ripple through your body. Do this with your family and children.

Step towards a gateway or threshold, saying loudly: “Jana, take me through the gateway easily and with protection. Walk with me as I step forward to claim my intentions!” Step confidently forward through the gateway.

Light a sparkler and say: “My year will be sparkling, my year will be bright, my year will be amazing and it all starts tonight!”

Trace a symbol of this year (anything that comes to mind such as a heart, a wave, a flower, whatever inspires) in the air with the sparkler.

Thank the Universe and Jana and ask: “What do I next?” Listen for any messages or ideas. Act upon these as soon as you can.

Blow out the candle. Throw the salted water down the drain.

Enjoy the incredible unfolding of your year!

Blessings to you.

(Some more ideas for year end rituals here and here.)

 

7 thoughts on “A new year ritual for you

  1. krissie

    thank you so much for posting this. I feel I really need some help for facing the new yr, and this could be well for what I’m looking for.. and will indeed try out. I love people who are helpful and post the most fantastic links that we can all share in and read! wow fantastic post Olga!

    Like

    Reply
  2. krissie

    thank you so much for posting this. I feel I really need some help for facing the new yr, and this could be well for what I’m looking for.. and will indeed try out. I love people who are helpful and post the most fantastic links that we can all share in and read! wow fantastic post Olga!

    Like

    Reply
  3. SD

    I really look forward to doing this again this year. It was great last year but I wasn’t as committed to the experience as I will be this year (we get out of these experiences what we put in) – should be fun. See you in the morning – haha! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. Katie

    Beautiful Ola, so happy to hear about your new blog, inspirations and resolutions. May the new year bring you abundance of abiding peave, joy and absolute happiness evolved from your sweet heart. Love Katie xxx

    Like

    Reply
  5. Katie

    Beautiful Ola, so happy to hear about your new blog, inspirations and resolutions. May the new year bring you abundance of abiding peave, joy and absolute happiness evolved from your sweet heart. Love Katie xxx

    Like

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Welcoming in 2013 | Peaceful mothering

Leave a Reply

